Metallica Albums Discography: List of Metallica Albums

Metallica Albums Discography: List of Metallica Albums
Metallica Albums

Metallica is an American heavy metal legend from the USA. Metallica was formed around the date 1981 in Los Angeles by lead vocalist and guitarist James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich and has been located in San Francisco for most of its existence. Metallica includes the studio albums of ten, eight live albums with three extended performances, 43 singles 10 video albums, 42 music videos One soundtrack album, three collaboration albums, and one box set, live albums.

They’re also one of the first “big four” groups of thrash metal together with Megadeth, Anthrax, and Slayer. Metallica’s current lineup includes its founding members, who are also the principal writers Hetfield and Ulrich as well as longtime lead guitarist Kirk Hammett and bassist Robert Trujillo. Following the drummer Dave Mustaine and bassists Ron McGovney, Cliff Burton, and Jason Newsted are former members of the band.

Full List Of Metallica Albums and Songs: Metallica Discography

They also won lots of prizes for their albums. Especially Metallica’s self-titled 5th album, which is often known as The Black Album, was released in 1991. It was the first album to debut at the top of The Billboard 200. Until today, Metallica has sold over 125 million albums in the world and more than 65 million albums sold within the United States alone (56.3 million albums sold since 1991).

If you wanna read about how much net worth Metallica has check here.

Metallica had 11 studio albums in their whole life and has received many awards like Grammy.

Check out the Top 11 Metallica albums here.

Best 13 Metallica Songs.

Metallica Studio Albums

  • Kill ‘Em All (1983)
  • Ride the Lightning (1984)
  • Master of Puppets (1986)
  • …And Justice for All (1988)
  • Metallica (1991)
  • Load (1996)
  • Reload (1997)
  • St. Anger (2003)
  • Death Magnetic (2008)
  • Hardwired… to Self-Destruct (2016)

Band Members of Metallica During the Albums

Current members

James Hetfield – lead vocals, rhythm guitar (1981–present)
Kirk Hammett – lead guitar, backing vocals (1983–present)
Robert Trujillo – bass, backing vocals (2003–present)
Lars Ulrich – drums (1981–present)

Former members

Dave Mustaine – lead guitar, backing vocals (1981–1983)
Ron McGovney – bass, backing vocals (1981–1982)
Cliff Burton – bass, backing vocals (1982–1986; died 1986)
Jason Newsted – bass, backing vocals (1986–2001)

Session/touring musicians

Bob Rock – bass, backing vocals (2001–2003)

Which is Metallica’s most selling album?

The self-titled Metallica – “The Black Album” is the most popular album by the band. In 2022, the album has sold over 28.3 million copies worldwide which means that it is the top-selling album of Metallica.

Kill ‘Em All

Release Date: July 25th, 1983
Record Label: Megaforce

Kill 'Em All

Song List

  1. Hit the Lights
  2. The Four Horsemen
  3. Motorbreath
  4. Jump in the Fire
  5. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth
  6. Whiplash
  7. Phantom Lord
  8. No Remorse
  9. Seek and Destroy
  10. Metal Militia

Ride the Lightning

Release Date: July 27th, 1984
Record Label: Megaforce

Sales Number: 4,334,000 [US]

Ride the Lightning

Song List

  1. Fight Fire With Fire
  2. Ride the Lightning
  3. For Whom the Bell Tolls
  4. Fade to Black
  5. Trapped Under Ice
  6. Escape
  7. Creeping Death
  8. The Call of Ktulu

Master of Puppets

Release Date: March 3rd, 1986
Record Label: Elektra

Sales Number: 4,578,000 [US]

Master of Puppets

Song List

  • Battery (5:12)
  • Master of Puppets (8:35)
  • The Thing That Should Not Be (6:36)
  • Welcome Home (Sanitarium) (6:27)
  • Disposable Heroes (8:16)
  • Leper Messiah (5:40)
  • Orion (8:27)
  • Damage, Inc. (5:32)

…And Justice for All

Release Date: September 7th, 1988
Record Label: Elektra

Sales Number: 5,330,000 [US]

...And Justice for All

Song List

  1. Blackened
  2. …And Justice for All
  3. Eye of the Beholder
  4. One
  5. The Shortest Straw
  6. Harvester of Sorrow
  7. The Frayed Ends of Sanity
  8. To Live Is to Die
  9. Dyers Eve

Metallica (The Black Album)

Release Date: August 12th, 1991
Record Label: Elektra

Sales Number: 17,300,000 [US]

Metallica (The Black Album)

Song List

  1. Enter Sandman
  2. Sad But True
  3. Holier Than Thou
  4. The Unforgiven
  5. Wherever I May Roam
  6. Don’t Tread on Me
  7. Through the Never
  8. Nothing Else Matters
  9. Of Wolf and Man
  10. The God That Failed
  11. My Friend of Misery
  12. The Struggle Within


Release Date: June 4, 1996
Record Label: Elektra

Sales Number: 5,088,000 [US]


Song List

  1. Ain’t My Bi**h
  2. 2 X 4
  3. The House Jack Built
  4. Until It Sleeps
  5. King Nothing
  6. Hero of the Day
  7. Bleeding Me
  8. Cure
  9. Poor Twisted Me
  10. Wasting My Hate
  11. Mama Said
  12. Thorn Within
  13. Ronnie
  14. The Outlaw Torn


Release Date: November 18, 1997
Record Label: Elektra

Sales Number: 4,036,000 [US]


Song List

  1. Fuel
  2. The Memory Remains
  3. Devil’s Dance
  4. The Unforgiven II
  5. Better Than You
  6. Slither
  7. Carpe Diem Baby
  8. Bad Seed
  9. Where the Wild Things Are
  10. Prince Charming
  11. Low Man’s Lyric
  12. Attitude
  13. Fixxxer

St. Anger

Release Date: June 5, 2003
Record Label: Elektra

Sales Number: 2,000,000 [US]

St. Anger

Song List

  1. Eleven Songs
  2. Frantic
  3. St. Anger
  4. Some Kind of Monster
  5. Dirty Window
  6. Invisible Kid
  7. My World
  8. Shoot Me Again
  9. Sweet Amber
  10. The Unnamed Feeling
  11. Purify
  12. All Within My Hands

Death Magnetic

Release Date: September 12, 2008
Record Label: Warner Bros.

Sales Number: 2,000,000 [US]

Death Magnetic

Song List

  1. That Was Just Your Life
  2. The End of the Line
  3. Broken, Beat & Scarred
  4. The Day That Never Comes
  5. All Nightmare Long
  6. Cyanide
  7. The Unforgiven III
  8. The Judas Kiss
  9. Suicide & Redemption
  10. My Apocalypse

Hardwired… to Self-Destruct

Release Date: November 18, 2016
Record Label: Blackened

Sales Number: 2,100,000 [Worldwide]

Hardwired... to Self-Destruct

Song List

Disc One

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Dream No More
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion
  2. ManUNkind
  3. Here Comes Revenge
  4. Am I Savage?
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three

  1. Lords Of Summer (2016)
  2. Ronnie Rising Medley
  3. When a Blind Man Cries
  4. Remember Tomorrow
  5. Helpless – Live at Rasputin Music
  6. Hit the Lights – Live at Rasputin Music
  7. The Four Horsemen – Live at Rasputin Music
  8. Ride the Lightning – Live at Rasputin Music
  9. Fade to Black – Live at Rasputin Music
  10. Jump in the Fire – Live at Rasputin Music
  11. For Whom the Bell Tolls – Live at Rasputin Music
  12. Creeping Death – Live at Rasputin Music
  13. Metal Militia – Live at Rasputin Music
  14. Hardwired – Live in Minneapolis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts